top of page

Kandkaer Kenz


The note had just two lines written- J&K Bank has sanctioned skilled loan for me and I have decided to buy a second hand auto rickshaw out of it.

The second line of his note really made me happy, I felt good that he could do something for his family. Other than this small note, the envelope had a thousand rupee note inside it, he was fulfilling his promise of paying the debt on monthly basis.

Studying continously for five hours I felt tired, it was 24th December 2021, 1:50 am and I opened the window of my room. A gentle touch of fresh breeze on my face until I got hit by a strong punch and ultimately my nose started to bleed.

I felt insentient & the only thing I heard him telling somebody on his phone was "She just looks like Aisha".

He searched for money in every almirah but could not find anything, until he started flipping pages of my books and diaries expecting that would be a suitable place for a 16 year old girl saving her money.


Just when I could sense things around me I found him reading my diary. In a frightened voice I asked him who is Aisha, to which he replied, "my four year old daughter".

He was going through the note which I wrote when I was eight years old "One day in Kashmir".

I also had somewhat similar dreams when I was a child, he said and I asked him- What is making you do this theft?

10th Class results, the answer felt wacky to me considering the situation. I wiped away the blood stains on my nose and I felt surprised looking at him wiping his tears.

I lost my daily waging job during peak covid period but to earn for my family I continued working as a labourer in a construction firm, said Arif.

My wife and four year old daughter still dont know about this because I cannot afford to see my daughter dejected as she just started her school.

I thought he is doing theft for his daughters education and I asked him- But what does your daughters education have to do with the recent 10th standard results?


My sister-in-law is married into a very rich household and I have to give Rs 8000 to my wife as she has to gift her niece Kandkaer Kenz set (Kashmiri copper engraved bowl & cuttlery) who recently passed her 10th standard exams.

I was dumbfounded and I stood up to get my Buggni (piggy bank) from my closet.

This buggni will have around Rs 10,000 in it and I hope it will be enough for you to buy a decent Kandkaer Kenz set.

To which Arif replied, "I had never committed theft in my life and I don't know if I should be taking this money from you or just telling my wife the truth."

I convinced him to take the money just by making the point that I just don't look like Aisha rather I am Aisha- his daughter for him.


A slight breeze on my face reminded me of the night of 24th December and made these cold tears feel warm on my face as I write this story on my diary in 2022, realizing how expensive it has become to keep our tradition alive.




bottom of page