top of page

Kashir-Meoun Ghare



We are way too susceptible to taking for granted the minor things in life. We are only aware of these components in our existence but we hardly take the time to appreciate them. To rediscover the actual beauty of the little things in our lives can be very challenging. We are no longer pleased with what we already have because we are so preoccupied with the pursuit of even more.

I stopped using perfume for the nine days I was at home-Kashir. Smell always has a tendency of taking us back to various moments of life. I started to feel every small thing but it was a strange situation, I was missing things which were right in front of me, may be because this time I knew I had a limited number of days which I can spent at a place which is home.


In the only letter, I could send you.

I wrote to you- My Motherland: My Kashmir.

I know the chinar leaves have set your beauty on fire.

But admist all this, I could hear the verse of Aurad-e-Fateh in the shire of Ameer Kabeer.

I sit watching the shikara rider rowing through Jhelum to earn his livelihood in the curfewed Khanqah.

The bulbul next to me sings to me the songs of Raj Begum.

And I miss, If I could have finished the last cup of Nun-chai.

I have realized every moment with you is precious to me, so I stare at your blue abundant sky with the parbat out of my focus.

This time I hold the kanger closer to me, with the fear of harsh cold seeping through my body.

The distance between us will soon grow longer and I will no longer get to share haakh-te-maaz with my family.

But my beloved Kashmir, I promise to return to you and sing qalam-e-mahjoor along the banks of dal.

It is you are where I belong & you are where I will always have my sukoon.





bottom of page